Arthur Becker-Weidman

Dyadic Developmental Psychotherapy: An evidence-baesd treatment

Attachment Facilitating Parenting

Attachment Parenting, a new book edited by Arthur Becker-Weidman, Ph.D., & Deborah Shell, will be out in May of this year. Many of the chapters are written by myself and Deb. In addition, there are a number of chapters by various experts in the fields of Theraplay, Sensory-Integration, and Neuropsychology. The book is for parents and professionals and provides a home-based approach for parents to use to help children with complex trauma and disorders of attachment. The book is grounded in Dyadic Developmental Psychotherapy, which is an evidence-based, effective, and empirically validated treatment.

January 29, 2010 - Posted by | Arthur Becker-Weidman, Brain, Child Abuse, Child development, Child Welfare, Dr. Arthur Becker-Weidman, Dr. Becker-Weidman, Dyadic Developmental Psychotherapy, Education, Empirically supported, Evidence-based, IEP, Parenting, Psychology, Research, Special Education, Treatment | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. I am looking forward to your book being published. I have had my eye on what you are doing with dyadic developmental psychotherapy and currently spend most of my clinical time making house calls to support parents to facilitate attachment beyond the therapy office boundaries. Thank you for all of your work in the field.

    Comment by Ce Eshelman | January 31, 2010 | Reply

    • You may want to look at two new books I’ve out:
      Dyadic Developmental Psychotherapy: Essential Methods & Practices, Lanham, MD: Jason Aronson, 2010
      and
      The Dyadic Developmental Psychotherapy Casebook, Lahnam MD: Jason Aronson, 2011.

      Comment by artweidman | January 12, 2012 | Reply

      • Thank you for the references. I will indeed check them out. Happy New Year!

        Comment by Ce Eshelman | January 12, 2012

      • You are welcome. Happy new year.

        Comment by artweidman | January 12, 2012

      • While I was poking around, I saw that you are turning your inperson Dyadic Developmental Psychotherapy course into a Skype course. I am very interested in how this is going? Have you completed your training this way with others yet?

        Comment by Ce Eshelman | January 12, 2012

      • The course has been wonderful for participants. People learn at their own pace. I find that people actually do better in this class than in the three and four day classes usually offered by trainers because the group is smaller and there is much more individual attention. I now offer the SKYPE Master Class for 56 hours, in two 28 hour blocks and an advanced skype class as well. If you are interested, you can call me or see the brochure at the Center For Family Development website.

        Comment by artweidman | January 12, 2012

      • I have already downloaded the application form. I don’t know if you recall that I previously applied to one of your trainings, but was refunded due to lack of participants. I am thrilled to get to do it this way. I will have to scape up the $ because I am just finished with my last round of chemotherapy, which has cut into my abundance. Ha. I am doing very well and will be back to full speed in a couple months, post radiation. Looking forward to learning together.

        Comment by Ce Eshelman | January 12, 2012

      • I’m glad to hear you are doing better. Looking forward to working with you.

        Comment by artweidman | January 12, 2012

  2. Thanks for the comment. You may also find some helpful material in the first book I edited, Creating Capacity for Attachment and my DVD on Principles of Attachment Parenting.

    regards

    Comment by artweidman | January 31, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

